Leonard Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award | The American Association For Justice Archive

Leonard Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award

The Leonard Weinglass In Defense of Civil Liberties Award is given to an individual—usually, but not necessarily, an attorney—who has made a notable contribution to the defense of civil liberties by bringing, trying, or resolving a suit, or by otherwise protecting or advancing civil liberties, in a way that has had a significant impact n the past year or over the course of his/her career.

The American Association for Justice Civil Rights Section proudly announces the 2018 recipient of the Leonard Weinglass Award:

Bryan Stevenson

Past Recipients

2017: Julie K. Brown
2016: William J. "Bill" Sheppard
2015: Siddhartha H. Rathod, Arash Jahanian, Matthew J. Cron, Qusair Mohamedbhai
2014: Joseph P. Kennedy
2013: James E. McElroy
2012: People's Law Office
2011: Michael W. Bein, Donald Specter
2010: Marsha Levick
2009: Fred D. Gray Sr.
2008: Edward G. Kramer
2007: No Recipient
2006: Alan Graf
2005: Arthur Bryant